North by Northeast


A day on the bike… in December?
17 December, 2006, 9:28 pm
Filed under: bike, Local

Minuteman Bikeway Logo

If you would have told me in September that today, December 17th, that I would be out on a bike ride with my wife on the Minuteman Trail, I would have informed you of your insanity. I suppose that if it isn’t going to be snowing, it might as well be warm enough to take a bike ride.

Yesterday, I took a trip to the bike shop trying to grab a few things to get me ready for the new global warming reality. I did something I thought I’d never do. I bought a pair of tights cycling pants. I just couldn’t deal with riding without something covering my legs. I must say, they fit really well. Incredibly comfortable. I also picked up a mid-weight wool jersey. Very retro. I am a longtime fan of SmartWool socks, and this a jersey made of the same material. I also got a pair of nice windproof gloves.

I finally got some road tires for my “road” bike… I’ve been using the stock cyclocross tires (mildly knobby, but much more narrow than an trail tire for any non-cycling nerds reading along) for my commuting and occasional recreational road ride, and everytime I was on the bike, I’d ask myself why I was still using those energy sapping tires onroad. I didn’t have a chance to try out the new Specialized tires I’d picked up. They’re more narrow than my current tires, and I didn’t want to deal with the good chance that my current tubes were too wide. I just wanted to get out on the road. I also picked up some nearly slick tires for Amanda’s bike, since she doesn’t have multiple bikes like her crazy husband.

The other reason that I got her slicks so that she can use an indoor trainer that we’re going to pick up before the end of the year. But they’re wicked expensive. I tried out two that felt great. And sold for $330. Ouch. I have to think about that one.

Lastly, I picked up some great Specialized shoes for the mountain bike. They didn’t have the pedals I tried to buy with them. I’m going to have to work on that one. And I didn’t buy this amazing IF I saw that sold fully built up, for nearly ten grand. Ouch. Possibly the most beautiful bike I’ve ever seen.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

